What Happens if I Am Involved in a Motorcycle Collision?

motorcycle car accident

Especially during the summer months, you may be tempted to take your motorcycle out onto the Texas roads. But you must follow an abundance of caution when doing so, as it would be devastating to incur any injuries or damages. Follow along to find out what you should do if you are involved in a motorcycle collision and how a proficient Houston, Texas motorcycle accident lawyer at White Personal Injury can help you explore your legal options.

What are the motorcycle helmet laws in the state of Texas?

More often than not, it is required that motorcyclists, and their passengers, wear a helmet. But there are a couple of exceptions, which read as follows:

  • You may not have to wear a helmet if you are 21 years of age or older.
  • You may not have to wear a helmet if you have $10,000 in medical insurance coverage or more.
  • You may not have to wear a helmet if you have completed an approved motorcycle operator training course.

Nonetheless, it is in your best interest to wear a helmet and other protective gear (i.e., sunglasses, padding, etc.) even if you are exempt. This is because your motorcycle itself offers little to no protection (i.e., no metal frame, no seatbelt, no airbag, etc.) in the event of a collision.

What should I do if I am involved in a motorcycle collision?

It is an unfortunate truth that you may still become involved in a motorcycle collision even after following the rules and regulations of the road. What’s worse is if you still incur injuries and damages even after wearing the proper protective gear. So if this is your case, you must consider filing a personal injury claim against the negligent driver. You should take the following initiatives to kickstart your claim:

  1. Call a law enforcement officer to come to the scene of your incident.
  2. Take photos and videos of your personal injuries and motorcycle damage.
  3. Ask involved drivers for their contact information.
  4. Ask present witnesses for their oral or written testimonies.
  5. Attend to paramedics and EMTs that arrive at the scene of your incident.
  6. Request and collect copies of medical documents and bills.
  7. Schedule and attend follow-up appointments with your physician as directed.

Arguably the most important step is filing your personal injury claim within the state of Texas’ statute of limitations. More or less, this deadline tends to be two years from the date on which your incident occurred. Otherwise, you may be indefinitely barred from an opportunity to sue.

Regardless of your specific circumstances, you must not second-guess your instinct to retain the services of a talented Houston, Texas auto accident lawyer from White Personal Injury. Schedule your free initial consultation with our firm today.

Contact Us
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.