What if a Driver Fled After My Car Collision?

driver speeding highway

It may be difficult to process the events that led up to your car collision. But what may leave you even more shocked is if the other driver simply drives away from the scene. Read on to discover what happens if a driver flees the scene after your car collision and how a seasoned Houston, Texas car accident lawyer at White Personal Injury can help you navigate this difficult situation.

Is it illegal to flee the scene of a car collision?

It is technically a criminal offense to flee the scene of a car collision in the state of Texas.

For one, if a driver flees when the other driver has incurred a serious bodily injury or wrongful death, this may be a third-degree felony offense (i.e., a fine of up to $10,000 and prison time of two to 10 years).

On the other hand, if a driver flees when the other driver has incurred a less serious bodily injury, this may still be a felony offense (i.e., a fine of up to $5,000 and jail/prison time of one to five years).

What happens if a driver fled the scene after my car collision?

You do not want to face criminal charges yourself; so you should not attempt to chase down a driver who has fled the scene of your car collision. It also may be unsafe to do so, as your car may have serious damage or the other driver may be dangerous.

Instead, you should leave this responsibility to the police. So, immediately following your collision, you should call 911. From here, you should relay to the dispatcher any identifiable characteristics you remember about the car (i.e., make, model, and color) or the other driver (i.e., sex, race, and hair). You should also share the general direction that the driver was heading towards.

You may also ask present witnesses to offer testimony to the law enforcement officer who arrives at the scene; they may have gotten a better look at the car/driver. Overall, the more information you can provide, the more likely it is that the police will find the driver.

What is the statute of limitations for my case?

It may take some time before the police track down the at-fault driver. But once they do, you must immediately file your personal injury claim against them. This is because there is a strict deadline, otherwise known as a statute of limitations, in the state of Texas. This deadline is two years from the date on which your accident occurred.

So, you must take the initiative and reach out to a competent Houston, Texas auto accident lawyer at your earliest possible convenience. Our team at White Personal Injury will be happy to serve you.

Contact Us
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.