What Should I Remember After My Collision?

witness car accident

Your head may be spinning after your car collision. But the first thing you should do is check if you or any of your passengers are okay. Once you confirm that everyone’s physical well-being is not at imminent risk, you should exit your vehicle and carry out certain tasks for your insurance claim and potential personal injury claim. Read on to discover what measures you should remember to take after your collision and how a seasoned Houston, Texas car accident lawyer at White Personal Injury can offer guidance in this department.

What should I remember doing after my car collision?

Arguably the most important precaution that you must keep in mind is that you cannot flee the scene of your car collision. Simply put even if you were not at fault for the collision, this action may jeopardize your chances of filing an insurance claim and/or personal injury claim. This is not to mention that it is illegal in the state of Texas to do so, and it carries the following penalties:

  • For a collision that resulted in property damage:
    • Up to $500 in fines.
  • For a collision that resulted in serious injury:
    • Up to $5,000 in fines.
    • Up to five years in jail.
  • For a collision that resulted in death:
    • Up to $10,000 in fines.
    • Anywhere between two to 10 years in prison.

Vice versa, you cannot chase down another driver who has fled the scene of your car collision. This is because, for all you know, this driver may be a dangerous individual, or even in trouble with the law. Or, your car may have incurred damages that make it unsafe to drive any further. Instead, you must leave this duty to the law enforcement officers that you call upon.

What other measures should I remember taking after my collision?

Besides remaining at the scene of your collision, it is in your best interest to keep the following measures in mind:

  • You must not confront the other driver with rage, frustration, or any adverse emotion.
  • You must not approach the other driver if they appear intoxicated or otherwise rageful.
  • You must not accidentally admit fault to the other driver or law enforcement officer.
  • You must not refuse to talk to present witnesses who saw your collision play out.
  • You must not reject medical attention from emergency first responders who arrive at the scene.
  • You must not ignore the treatment plan prescribed for your injuries after your collision.
  • You must not forget to seek legal advice from a lawyer on your next steps.

So, when it comes to your personal injury claim, you need a competent Houston, Texas auto accident lawyer by your side. This is why you must contact White Personal Injury as soon as possible.

Contact Us
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.